With just exactly two weeks before the Milo Manila eliminations, I woke up early this morning with two goals in mind:  first, a nice, long run (maybe half marathon distance) and, second, to sign up for the biggest marathon event of the country.

As I stepped out of the house and made my way to the Rizal Memorial Stadium track oval, I was so happy to see  the fair weather on a Sunday again after the Mizuno run.  My friends tell me I’m overly sentimental but this morning, I really felt that I should be more thankful about the little things that I sometimes tend to overlook.  I guess I should stop and smell the flowers more often.

The oval was reported earlier this year to be demolished and transformed to a football field by the end of the year.  For now, it's home to me.

There were reports earlier this year that the oval would be transformed into a football field by the end of the year. For now, it's home to me.

I should pay more attention to and be thankful for the things that make our lives, my life, better.  Like the weather.  Or the chance to run in the stadium where our national athletes also train.  Or just to be healthy and be able to run. 

As I started running, I also started to hear the birds chirping and smell the grass as the sun dried up the dew that had been kissing it since early morning.  I thought it was really nice to run with the wind slightly blowing my face, cooling the perspiration my body had been producing after running more laps.

I was running along for most of the two or so hours.  I felt like I rented the whole oval for just 35 pesos.  :-)

I was running alone for most of the two hours or so. I felt like I rented the whole oval for just 35 pesos. 🙂

Over a period of about two hours, I had a nice, relaxed run of 53 laps around the oval.  This is one more thing I like about running.  I can relax and enjoy the run and the view, and at the same time concentrate and focus on my target mileage and still be able to count the number of laps I make.  🙂

21.2 km done.  One down, one to go.

I was encouraged even more to make the National finals by a question from a friend on whether I really think my race number is lucky.

I was encouraged even more to make the National finals by a question from a friend on whether I really think my race number is lucky.

It will be my first Milo full marathon so I was very excited and very eager to register for me, my sisters and friends.  Last year, we almost didn’t make it as we weren’t paying enough attention to the approaching deadline.  This year, I didn’t want to have the same problem, so together with friends Reina and Mark, we headed for the RACE office in Greenhills and filled out forms, checked if we had enough Milo packets, and chose our singlet sizes.  And boy, am I relieved to get it done and over with!  Whew!  No more bad dreams about not making the deadline again this year.

Two out of two.  What a great way to start my Sunday!  🙂

