Yellow RibbonI always say that I reserve this blog to anything about running so I try not to put in opinions and thoughts about other things as best I can.  But the passing of former Pres. Cory Aquino early morning today, August 1, 20 days before the death anniversary of another icon Ninoy Aquino, couldn’t stop me from putting in some words for one of the most conscientious leaders we’ve had.

I was getting ready for my Mandarin class this morning when I heard the news and was told by my bureau chief to report for work.  And I must say this to me has been one of the most difficult stories to cover.  Many times this morning, my emotions got the better of me because I grew up looking at Tita Cory not only as my president but also as an aunt, even a mother.  I was 12 and just starting to form my own opinion about politics when I saw her flashing the “Laban” sign on TV.

I’m sure we’ve all read and heard so many things about her, both good and bad, but no one can argue the fact that she wasn’t corrupt and that she never tried to desperately cling to power even when she had the chance and the Constitution would have allowed her.

Today, our readers in Japan will also remember Tita Cory as our Manila bureau publishes a series of articles about her.

When I attended the Edsa celebration in De La Salle Taft earlier this year, it was my first and last time to see her up close, addressing an intimate crowd.  It had almost been one year since the family announced she was suffering from colon cancer but on that day, she chose to talk about how she dealt bravely with the so-called political machos of the country before, during and after the historic People Power revolution that catapulted her to Philippine presidency.

Tita Cory, maraming salamat.

Today the Filipinos lost a leader, an icon and a mother.

