I had been doing yoga with some friends for several months until our teacher got pregnant so we had to stop the lessons for the time being.  I’m not even sure now if that’s the reason but thanks to good friend Sumie, I’ve now been introduced to the world of Pilates.  Stott Pilates to be exact.  Sumie enrolled for a class and then for her practical training, she is teaching me and a few other friends starting from the very basic.

I’ve tried some pilates at the gym before and I really liked it but because Sumie gives a more personalized class, she teaches the basic principles and then guides us in our breathing and every move as we progress and try other moves.

Light moment before the session with Reina and Mark

Sharing a light moment before the session with Reina and Mark

So what is Stott Pilates?  According to its website, it is a contemporary approach to the original method pioneered by the late Joseph Pilates and includes modern principles of exercise science and spinal rehabilitation, making it one of the safest and effective methods available.  It’s used by rehab and prenatal clients, athletes, celebrities and everyone in between.

The benefits range from improving postural problems and having longer and leaner muscles to preventing injury and balancing strength and flexibility.

Sumie teaches the pelvic placement.

Sumie teaches about the pelvic placement.

On the first day, I learned about the 5 basic principles which focused on:

  • breathing
  • pelvic placement
  • rib cage placement
  • scapular movement, and
  • head and cervical spine placement

And on the second session yesterday, teacher Sumie noticed that my body looked more relaxed particularly my shoulders during and after doing some movements.  I also found last night’s session more challenging.  We are all excited to come back for more!

Group picture after an hour and a half of Stott Pilates

Group picture after an hour and a half of Stott Pilates

I plan to continue (for as long as Sumie will allow me) doing Pilates and I’ll try to share some points in this blog hoping to encourage other runners (and of course even non-runners) to at least give it a try.

